Harold’s rain delay story

Posted on

San Diego rain delay 05-14-2015
Associated Press

The clock is making its way toward 11:30 p.m. at The Rainout Blog world headquarters on the East Coast. I need to hop out of bed at 4:45 a.m. for work, but I was hoping to catch the first couple of innings of the Nationals at Padres game.

As luck would have it, there’s currently a rain delay at Petco, only the sixth one in the park’s history. Anyway, I’m flipping between MASN and the MLB Network and here Harold Reynolds talk about the importance of staying ready to play, physically and mentally, during a rain delay.

Here’s Reynolds talking to Al Leiter and Greg Amsinger:

“I was in Triple A, Salt Lake City… first time I had ever had a tarp in my life, right? It’s raining cats and dogs in Salt Lake. You can imagine, a lot like Colorado, right?” Reynolds said, pointing to Leiter on the set.

“And I’m like, ‘we’re not playing tonight! Let’s go to the movies. Let’s figure out what we’re doing,” he said excitedly.

“The next thing you know, they rip off the tarp, and I’m standing at the plate going ‘oh my.’ I wasn’t ready to play at all. That was a huge lesson in figuring out… uh oh, you better stay ready.”

Leave a Reply

