A pal’s brilliant idea

Posted on Updated on

Twins Orioles Baseball

A few years back, a friend of mine had a terrific idea.

I was a several calendar flips into writing The Rainout Blog, which at the time involved all sports and struggling to find time to quickly write posts every time a rain drop splattered on a sporting event… including cricket. I was having fun with the blog, but this odd hobby (read: obsession) of mine was getting to be a bit too much.

I remember one early fall Thursday night someone texted me saying, “Dude, it’s raining hard at the South Florida football game. Why is this not on the blog?” I knew right then, even though this is no high-click blog, I was putting a bit too much pressure on myself to expedite content for my 17 somewhat loyal readers.

That’s when my pal presented the idea: “Why don’t you write a post once a week? You could recap the entire week in one story.”

Brilliant! Except, at the time, I thought it was a stupid idea.

Sorry, bro. You were right.

That was about seven or eight years ago. It has taken me that long to realize the once-a-week thing is a pretty cool, and manageable, concept. I can easily spend a few minutes online each day, researching and then writing what is now a baseball-only blog.

I started “This Week in Baseball Weather” three weeks ago, and took a bye last week. The next edition is set to be posted Friday. In it, you’ll learn why you should use the same weather app as Suzyn Waldman, how Buck Showalter is keeping his catchers fresh throughout the summer heat, and how catching a cold during spring training in Mexico brought Lou Finney’s 1937 season to an early end.

I’d like to say the content is ready to post, but as I write, rain is delaying the start of the Cubs-Diamondbacks game at Wrigley Field, and the forecast is a bit foreboding for a few other games scheduled for this Thursday night.

Leave a Reply

